I believe that the universe gives us what we need, when we need it. For five days in my winter break, I flew to Sydney to be part of the magical tribe at the Magic Moments Youth Leadership & Business Summit. As I’m thinking about it now, I’ve spent well over $2000 over the past three years in attending this summit but there is not a single inch of regret in my soul.

It’s really hard to express how much this camp means to me, mostly because I don’t know where I would be or who I would be without it. The way I got to attend Magic Moments in 2014 was a total fluke. I’d just moved to Australia and I found out that Australians have this really weird thing: they actually have camps you can go to during the holidays that are fun. (what?) So I was super eager to get into one of these camps, and when my principal said that there were opportunities to get sponsored to go to SuperCamp, I was in.

But I also wasn’t in. He didn’t choose to sponsor me because he thought that I “didn’t need it”. I was heartbroken, especially when my friends who did get picked came back from SuperCamp and were endlessly talking about how great it was. But I was blessed to have a principal with honour, and when the opportunity came up to get nominated for a sponsored place at Magic Moments, I was in it to win it. And out of 6 applicants, I was one of two that got in.

IMG_4580.JPG

I needed the kick up the bum that Magic Moments gave me, and from there my entire life had changed. Disclaimer: I don’t think that it will have the same impact on everyone that it did on me. It can’t change people unless they want to change, but we sure as hell try to get people to want to change.

That’s one of my lightbulb moments for this camp: that we are exactly where we need to be at all times. I don’t just mean physically, but also in terms of your state of mind, your situation, your environment. There is always a lesson that can be learned from whatever situation we’re in, there is always something that can change us or something we can do to make things better. It doesn’t always feel that way because life can get pretty awful. But we won’t see this truth unless we go out with the intention to be present and appreciate whatever the universe has dished out for us today.

IMG_4472.JPG

Yesterday I had a free class so I left school early to go to the gym. I was feeling pretty crap because it was the first day of school and it was my last first day of high school (but that’s for another post). I really desperately wanted to talk to someone who had been to Magic Moments, but I also didn’t really want to go and look for them. So, I was waiting at the traffic lights to cross, and as the universe would have it, two people who had been to Magic Moments this year, Jade and Dalton, magically appeared just when I needed them.

We ended up having an hour-long chat over coffee, which was absolutely brilliant and lifted my spirits by a gazillion times. It was exactly what I needed and wanted. Everything just fell into place.

IMG_4674.JPG

There is magic in this world, not the type of card tricks and rabbits, but the one that is in every single moment of our lives. I forgot about it for a while, but I am so grateful that I now remember.

There is greatness in you. – Marlon Smith

 

